Friday!

26 Nov

Friday is treating me well,  my friends.

I wake up (after a long Thanksgiving night filled with BBQ and cognac) to an email inbox full of messages from my mom and older sister asking me when I plan to log on Skype so the family to see me during their Thanksgiving festivities in Savannah GA. I barely manage to pull myself out of bed and wipe the crusties from my eyes before I’m flipping open the computer to see my entire family dressed in their Sunday’s best, huddled over the computer on the other end. The perfect way to start any day in my opinion. It was just what I needed.

Work proved to be interesting as well.

I’m not prepared for the lesson, my third grade hell spawns are acting more uncivilized than usual, and my co-teacher falls ill during the third period, but it wasn’t enough to send the day into a tailspin.

Why?

During my second period class, one of my students–we’ll call him Sammy Snickers–jumps up and begs to be excused to the bathroom. I’m usually reluctant to make such concessions for my third graders because instead of using the toilet, they tend to plaster the bathroom walls with wet toilet paper wads (not that I’m particularly mad at them for doing it. It just pisses me off because I can’t join in).

My Co-teacher allows Sammy to go to the bathroom and he hobbles out of the class looking like he’s about to do(o) some serious damage in the little boys room. 15 minutes pass and right when I think to go looking for him, he slides open the classroom door and scurries back to his desk holding something behind his back under his shirt. I walk over to him planning to have him turn over whatever treasures he’s acquired during his recent trip, then I notice that what he’s holding is actually his underwear. Turns out Sammy had an accident and didn’t get all of his snickers in the toilet. He stuffs his doody undies down the sleeve of his jacket and I return to the front of the class trying my hardest not to crack up laughing while my co-teacher is explaining a worksheet to the other students. I decided not to share the incident with her. It’s bad enough poor Sammy had to go commando for the rest of the day, no need to further embarrass him. Needless to say, for the remainder of my classes (and really the rest of the day), the thought of it made me chuckle a bit. Poor kid. 

So my co-teacher has gone home sick and I now sit at my desk happily listening to tunes on Youtube whilst writing this post.

The plan tonight?

Das Racist is performing in Kyungsung and I’m thinking the perfect way to cap off a great Friday will be to knock back some beers and let the dreads swing. That is, after enjoying some dwaeji galbi with some of the fellas. It’s going to be a good night indeed.

The sun is setting, and I’m smiling and welcoming the weekend with open arms.

Happy Friday, friends. Enjoy the track.

Ciao,

Kimchi Dreadlocks

Leave a Reply

