“Ayyy Girl” Made Worse by Mr. West

20 Oct

So today I planned on posting on some thoughts I had over the weekend, but something better fell into my lap whilst desk warming at the J.O.B.

I’m happily going through last Sunday’s football highlights when my co-teacher approaches–CD in hand–asking me if I can transcribe the rap verse on some song for her. I first wince at the task, then get all warm inside when I think about the possibility of sneaking some raps into my grade six lesson plans (really I have no clue if the transcribed verse will even be used for a lesson, but I can dream dammit). Half the school already hears me reciting lines from A Tribe Called Quest on a regular basis so using it to teach the finer points of my native tongue wouldn’t be much of a stretch. I take a look at the song she has in mind and immediately  notice Kanye West is on the track.

The song is called Ayyy Girl and apparently it’s the first single of an album entitled The Beginning by  K-pop trio J.Y.J. I know nothing about the group, but judging by the looks of the CD cover, they’re a typical Korean boy band, complete with fucked up hair styles, overtly feminine clothing, and way to much eyeliner, however this is beside the point. I tell my co-teacher I’ll transcribe the verse for her and take a listen. It’s clear the group is shooting for an international market. The track Mr. West is featured on, along with the rest of the album, is recorded entirely in english.

For all that don’t know, I’m a sucker for damn near anything Hip-Hop, and while Kanye has let me down in the past, he still remains one of my favorites. And before all you so called “real” Hip-Hop aficionados leave hate mail my comments section–blabbing  about how commercial Kanye has become–save it for your sissy internet forums. I purely don’t give a shit. I’m a fan.

That being said, Kanye should apologize for fucking up what might have otherwise been an only halfway shitty song. Truth be told, I think K-Pop is some of the worst music on the planet(right up there with the ear cancer better known as Country Western), but at least it’s consistently crappy, and most Korean teenie-boppers only need a few cute faces who can bust out some slick dance moves and they’re golden. J.Y.J. went for the gusto. I’m almost positive they wrote a check, and in return Mr. West sent them some random shit he scribbled in his notepad along with a beat and melody he probably composed while sitting on his Louis Vitton toilet. And here I honestly thought K-pop could get no worse.

But hell, I’m no music critic. Judge for yourself and share your thoughts.

Ciao,

Kimchi Dreadlocks

8 Responses to ““Ayyy Girl” Made Worse by Mr. West”

  1. Kev la October 20, 2010 at 12:44 PM #

    That is shocking!

  2. 3gyupsal October 20, 2010 at 1:13 PM #

    Five bucks says they jacked one of his beats and had to settle out of court by having him appear on the track. He gets all the royalties, and some good P.R. in Korea.

    • Kimchi Dreadlocks October 20, 2010 at 3:41 PM #

      Interesting. Still, they could have picked a better beat to jack. Silly boy bands.

      • 3gyupsal October 20, 2010 at 4:14 PM #

        I’m not saying that it is this particular song, or this particular band, it could have been the entertainment company. It’s all pure conjecture based on what has happened in the past.

        Last year, a guy who calls himself G-dragon was getting sued by Flo-rida for stealing the beat to Right Round. His production company said that they were going to fight the allegations, but in later versions of the kid’s album they gave credit to Flo-rida, and the two announced a collaboration.

        But in Kpop, stealing beats is an epidemic, half of KPOP queen Lee Hyori’s last album was plagiarized.

        So I don’t actually know if these kids ripped off Kanye West, but if a suspicious back story emerges, I wouldn’t be surprised. It could also be that Kanye West just wants to sell records in Korea, it’s a pretty big market.

      • Kimchi Dreadlocks October 20, 2010 at 4:28 PM #

        Again, something I didn’t know about K-pop. Thanks for the insights. I have no doubt that West wants to sell record in Korea. If I’m not mistaken he was just here not too long ago. I do find it interesting that he laces JYJ with a piss poor verse, but I doubt if any of his Korean fans notice. Or maybe I’m being to hard on the Lois Vitton Don.

        G-Dragon? The name sounds familiar.

  3. Sheryl Hurt October 21, 2010 at 12:44 AM #

    Hey Cuz:

    You r so funny and real. I just love to read your comments!

  4. Peterson October 23, 2010 at 11:16 PM #

    Wow, that doesn’t even sound remotely like a Kanye beat. Are you sure he did the backing track?

    G-Dragon is a member of Big Bang, btw.

    • Kimchi Dreadlocks October 25, 2010 at 12:57 PM #

      I’m positive. He is credited for it on the album jacket. And I would say it sounds a lot like Kanye, only more shitty. the “Ayyy Girl” beat sounds like a low grade version of “Flashing Lights” with the 808 kicks from “Heartbreak”.

Leave a Reply

