Seoul Round 2: Global Gathering 2010

12 Oct

Early last week I told myself that I would have a mellow weekend here in Busan. I figured I’d explore some unvisited parts of the city, snap some pics and do some self reflection on my time in Korea thus far. I make it all the way to Friday before completely tossing the idea to the curb.

An hour before I get off of work, while starring into the online black hole known as Facebook, I decide to again crash Seoul for the weekend and head to Global Gathering 2010–a 14-hour muti-stage, muti-DJ music festival set in Hangang Park on the Han river.After work, I make  a dash for my apartment, throw some shit in a backpack and head to the train station.

Now I’m a self proclaimed hip-hop head–I love the shit–but I was more than pleased to see the festival headliners included Fatboy Slim, Justice and international powerhouse DJ Armin Van Buuren. Hell, Fatboy Slim alone would’ve been enough lure me to Seoul.

Walking onto the festival grounds, I’m a bit underwhelmed at the size of the venue and begin to wonder if the show is going to be any good, but as the sun set I quickly realize what I’m in for.

They key to surviving at a long music festival is setting a reasonable pace to ensure you’re not passed the fuck out when the headliners hit the stage. You don’t want to be the person who can only comment about the first few acts because you decided to go for broke at the Jagermister tent, then passed out by the tour busses, hoping to score an autograph. Needless to say, eating and staying hydrated are a must if you plan to go the distance.

I stave off getting too juiced for as long as I can and cut loose right before Justice takes the stage. This is when the fun really starts. Several times during the DJ set I find myself on top of a friend’s shoulders in an attempt to hype up the crowd around me. Why? Fuck if I know. Techno moves the spirit.

Big ups to Jens for the photo.

Towards the end of Justice’s set another friend convinces me that we should try to make it towards the front front stage. We get about two rows away from the front before realizing it is not a place we want to be. There was no dancing just violent swaying in whatever direction the crowd moved. We barely manage to keep from being trampled to death. I look down at my friend and she has a look on her face that seems to say “I was wrong Jay, this is no place for a human being” I’m still not sure how we were able to make it out with no serious injuries.

Besides stellar sets by Justice and the aging Fatboy Slim, the highlight of the night was free beer. I had just been kicked out of VIP after hopping the fence and plopping down at at a reserved table (I didn’t matter really the view from VIP sucked and they didn’t even have free drinks) when I notice the beer tent just outside only has two people manning it with the entire stock of beer stacked behind them with no one keeping an eye on the stash. Instincts kick in and before you know it I’m crouched down behind the tent stuffing my backpack full of liquid gold. I manage to get somewhere in between 12 and 15 cans stuffed inside before the bag is completely filled and I have to abandon the rest. I then head back to the crowd to catch Armin Van Buuren’s set.

After all that hard work I end up goving most of my stash away and can hardly drink the ones I’ve kept.  At five in the morning I barely make it on the last shuttle back to Hongdae and probably piss off some of the other passengers with my drunken banter on Dave Chapelle and 3-6-Mafia.

By six 0’clock Sunday  evening I’m back in Busan trying to figure out if the festival was worth the trip. I put my I pod away and notice I still have two stolen beers at the bottom of my backpack. I can’t help but grin as I make my way to the subway station. The music was awesome, but nothing beats a free beer(s).

Ciao,

Kimchi Dreadlocks

2 Responses to “Seoul Round 2: Global Gathering 2010”

  1. Mike October 14, 2010 at 11:13 AM #

    Not sure stealing beer is something to boast about… On the beer subject, Daejeon is having a “rockefest” this weekend consisting of a number of big name Korean rock bands (that I haven’t actually heard of). Included in that will be 300 international wine, BEER, and food vendors. Possibly something to check out…

    • Jaywoodseyo October 14, 2010 at 12:54 PM #

      Sorry that you don’t approve my friend. In my book, free beer is ALWAYS a good thing, There are way worse offenses being commited in Korea everyday (like the kid caught posting videos of his sexcapades with Korean chicks). In other words, don’t judge. Yeah I Heard about the rock festival. We’ll see how the weekend plans develop . Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

